Kinaadman defeats Olivarez and wins the Gov. Jubahib Cup

September 6, 2022 | 1:33 p.m

MANILA, Philippines — Joshua Kinaadman augmented a promising career by officiating at the Governor’s Edwin Jubahib Cup national tennis championships, capping his title win with an impressive 6-1, 6-2 win over Eric Jed Olivarez at the DavNor Tourism and Sports Complex in Davao del Norte last Monday.

The fourth-placed Lapu Lapu City ace, who was preparing for a bitter, drawn-out duel with Olivarez and stunned top seed Johnny Arcilla 6-4, 6-4 in the semifinals, found the run much smoother instead of behind a brilliant all-around game , to which his third-placed rival had virtually no answer.

After giving up serves in the first three games, 24-year-old Kinaadman Olivarez broke in the fourth and used that momentum to win the next three, including a shut-out win in the seventh.

It was more of the same thing in the next frame as Cebuano took control with a break in game five, then only added four points as he won the final three games for the P40,000 romp in straight sets.

Olivarez, who also stunned No. 2 Vicente Anasta in the Final Four 6-2 1-6 10-3, pocketed P20,000.

Anasta, meanwhile, teamed with John Mari Altiche as they held off Arcilla and Olivarez in a grueling duel 7-5, 7-6 (3) to secure the crown and top 30,000 pesos in the men’s doubles Open Championship, set up by Governor Jubahib.

Anasta and Altiche had previously outmaneuvered Kinaadman and Jelic Amazona 7-6(5), 6-3, while Arcilla and Olivarez defeated John Alejandre and NJ Enriquez 6-2, 6-2 in the semifinals of the week-long tournament hosted by Darbmuco, Dacup Surveying Office, WEARBEMPCO, Velocity One Realty Ventures, Inc., Haven United Dev’t Corp., Panabos Mayor Jose Relampagos, CFARBEMCO, Marsman Drysdale Agri Business Corp., PBA Party List and Joan Este.

On the podium were Arniel Bendulo-Armando Palac; Butch dela Cruz- Buboy Paradero; and Robert Oliveros-Joey Villanueva, who won the men’s doubles category at the Gov. Jubahib Legends led.

Bendulo and Palac thwarts Marvin Sing and Randy Pracullos, 8-4, to win the Over 40 honors; dela Cruz and Paradero dominated Maui Manulat and Luciano Caiman Jr., 8-2, for the Over-50s crown; while Oliveros and Villanueva won the Over-60s tiara with a similar 8-2 victory over Bob Sabandon and Melchor Sabandon.

Comments are closed.